ETIAS: How delayed EU travel requirement affects Canadian

Policies like visas affecting Canadians traveling to some European countries have been postponed for the third time.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) was initially scheduled to enter into force in January 2021, but was later postponed to November 2023. 2024.

When this new policy takes effect, Canadians traveling to one of Europe’s 30 countries for less than 90 days will need to complete a visa-like application, according to the European Union Commission’s Department of Immigration and Home Affairs. the website says. The cost is approximately CA$10.

The EU is trying to introduce an immigration system, An automated IT system that registers travelers. However, the implementation of this system was postponed to his November of this year, Further delay the rollout of ETIAS visas.

Here’s what you need to know about policies:

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS requires an application that is required before entering certain countries within the EU. It is linked to your personal passport and is valid for up to 3 years or until your passport expires.

it is needed for the nation, Canada, Australia, USA, Mexico, etc.

Travelers will need a visa to enter 27 European countries known as the Schengen Area, with three more.

What is the Schengen Area?

With the exception of Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania, 27 countries that are not part of the EU but will use ETIAS make up the Schengen Area.

Travelers can move freely in these countries without crossing national borders. The Schengen Area was launched in 1985 when he was the first in five countries.

ETIAS will be required in 2024 before traveling to: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal , Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Border controls have not been lifted in Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania. The website of the European Council explains.

Why is the EU implementing ETIAS?

Before the ETIAS requirements come into force in 2024, Canadians will be able to enter the Schengen area from any border of any Schengen country and travel freely.

ETIAS is being conducted to identify “safe, irregular migration or high epidemic risks” posed by travelers entering the EU from visa-free countries. The European Union Commission’s Migration and Home Affairs website says:

Who Needs ETIAS?

According to the European Union website In general, you will need ETIAS if:

  • I am not an EU citizen.
  • Be a citizen of a country that does not require a visa for short stays in European countries that require ETIAS;
  • Do not have a residence permit/card/document issued by one of the European countries requiring ETIAS

When and how should I apply?

Canadians can complete their own ETIAS application or authorize a third party such as a friend, family member or travel agent to apply on their behalf.

The EU says it “strongly encourages” people to obtain an ETIAS before booking flights and accommodation.

“Most applications are processed within minutes, at the latest within 96 hours,” the EU website says. “However, some applicants may be required to submit additional information or documents or participate in an interview with national authorities, which may take an additional 30 days.”

documents are only Must be between 18 and 70 years of age.

Application costs 7 euros, about 10 Canadian dollars.

Once the system is in place, border guards in countries entering the Schengen area will have access to this information when travelers arrive.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button